Am I A Wierdo?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Stig

Reaction score
I'm new to diving & i'm in the process of wadeing through the minefield of getting my gear. So far I think I'm doing ok, I know what I like & I'm trying to be minamalistic (because it's cheaper :tease: ) because I don't like clutter, However when I was discussing gear in my local store we got on to the subject of dive computers. Don't get me wrong I'm no techniphobe but when I told the guy that I didn't want one because I want to get experienced useing charts & gauges before becomeing reliant on computers & I would rather use money saved on a computer to get better reg's,bcd etc..
I got a very strainge reaction. :confused:
more as If I said that I believed that the moon was made of cheese & I'm a goat herder called Ivan van Glocken Hoffen. :viking:

So am I in a minority amongst minority? for wanting to cut my teeth on the basics before getting stuck into whizzy gadgets or was it shear horror that no matter how good his sales pitch was he wasn't going to get another £400 out of me? Or am I missing a bigger issue?

Stig once bubbled...