Hollis Tec gear question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

TigerDiver8

Contributor
Reaction score
Ventura County, California, United States
# of dives
500 - 999
Hello, I am new to diving but am looking to purchace basci tec gear for future endeavors. I am a Undergrad student currently studying population dynamics in humback whale populations, and will be doing coral reef research in a couple years, so i wanted to get gear that was in line with scientific diving. Now some people on this forum have been very helpful in pointing me to the back plate wing desgin. So I wanted to ask you tec divers if what i was looking to buy is good or can i get away with something good just cheaper (diffrent brand name, not trying to skimp on quality). I am looking to purchace Hollis Elite back plate for 130.00; Hollis x37 wing for 175.00 (I am 155 pounds, is a 37 lb lift capacity bladder is that to much or not enough for me?) Scuba Pro G250V with MK 25 for 600.00; and am still looking for gauges and a secondary reg. (if you have input on a reg set up that i can get for les that would be great, i have a certain amount and the remainder i would like to put towards my Advanced Open water and Search and recovery diver certs, if possible).

You can do well with very similar gear that is more competitively priced - take a look at the Hog gear, for instance.