I want to design a Dive Watch. What would make the best watch?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

00wabbit

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi all,

I'm a watch designer when I'm on the surface and I recently took up scuba diving. Now I want to design a dive watch.
This will be a long term project for me. I really want to give it a good amount of time to get the best design possible.

I am hoping to get some input form the community. Eventually I may post some of my sketches and design process here.
What would make the best dive watch to you?
What dive watches do you like and why?
What do you hate about dive watches?
What is missing?

A little about my self.
I used to be senior design at Fossil Watches and most recently I was Design Manager at Movado Watches. Now I am a Design Consultant working for another well known watch company. As of now this project is to create my personal watch but if the company I am working for has a need to create a dive watch I may incorporate some of the ideas in it.

You can see some of my older work here: BRANDON HATCHER, Design Manager from West New York, NJ
As you can see I have been working mostly in fashion watches. Now I want to push out into functional watch design. Which I know I can do I jsut haven't been in the right position to do them professionally.

Any way here goes. Let's get this started.

Later

Biggest thing is reliability under extreme pressure. Fashion is a distant lower priority. Rotating bezel is a must. A digital depth gauge wouldn't hurt either.