18# vs 30# mach v wing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jallen013

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Preface: Ive been diving a Zeagle Brigade for several years but have lost quite a bit of weight and it no longer fits. The last time I dove the Brigade was in early March and I used 16# of lead; I'm still loosing weight so on my next trip in June I should be down a bit more lead. I'm mostly a vacation diver - Caribbean waters in a 3 mil full wetsuit.

I'm bout to drop the coin on my first BP/W rig. I know that I want an aluminum backplate for minimum pack weight. I know that I will go with a basic one piece harness. I know I will add weight pockets to the rig because I hate weight belts.

I thought that I wanted the 30# Mach V wing (solely because that's close to the 35# bladder on my Brigade), but my LDS guys were quick to suggest going with the 18# version instead. I'd really appreciate some further advise about the 18# vs the 30# Mach V wing in relation to my diving.

Thanks in advance.

I use an 18lb wing with Koplin travel plate for warm water diving and have more than enough lift. The 18lb wing wouldn't cut it for cold water diving so I use a 27lb wing for that.

I'd suggest the 18lb wing for your use, although the 35lb would just be a little bulkier and more versatile if you get into cold water diving.

Have you played with the Ultimate Wing Lift Calculator at the top of this forum? I find it to be pretty accurate.

I dropped 2 lbs of lead switching from my Brigade to Al BP and STA.