Wing selection with DR Transpac

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mddolson

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
I'm new to sidemount diving.(only 20 sidemount dives).
I'm using a stripped down transpac, with rec wing right now.
But I don't like the rec wing. Teathers control the tacoing, but I'm considering a donut style wing to allow air crossover at the bottom of the wing.
I dive primarily dry, in the Lake Ontario & Kawarthas (Kingston, Peterborough) area.
I got hooked on sidemount on the trip to Tulum 2 years ago & am a sidemount convert.
I'm looking for recomendations.

Mike D

Hi Mike,

I, like you, started sidemount in Mexico and then went home to try to put something together. My setup was a Transpac w/ Classic Wing. It was a mess. Since then I have tried many (10+) different harnesses and have finally settled into one that I love.

There have been many changes in the sidemount world in the last couple of years and I think it may be wise for you to invest in a rig designed specifically for what you are doing.

I have been diving, teaching in, and selling, the XDEEP Stealth for about a year. My students and I put all 5 of my rigs through hell and they are still in perfect shape. This is hands down the best rig on the market today. Let me know if you want more info or one sent your way.

Let me know if you ever head back to Tulum, caves are better than ever :)

Frank

Frank,

Thanks for the recommendation. I've seen images & adverts for the Xdeep.