Snorkel/Free-diving and PREGNANCY

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Hello there!

I work for a living as a underwater photographer for snorkel tours. I am, however, suspecting that I may be pregnant. Its still too early to tell thru home pregnancy tests.

I am concerned that I will not be able to do my job as long as I'd like to into the pregnancy.

The lowest depths that I usually freedive to are closer to 30 feet. But am usually averaged around 10-15 ft in the shallow snorkel spots.

My hypothetical question is, If a woman is pregnant, can she safely snorkel/free dive during pregnancy? If so, for how long into the term can this safely be done? AND any advice about the powerboat entry, or should i completely stay off of engine boats? Or how long it would be safe to actually hold breath? and at what depth of diving should be stayed at?

I love my job, and really dont have much else to fall back on for now. Thank goodness i wouldnt be a single mother, if this is the case. But i'd like to start gathering info now, so i can prepare, if it is the truth.

thank you!

That's a lot of questions ... Your best bet is probably having one of the Mods move your thread over to the "Diving Medicine"-forum, in order to get the answers you're looking for.