From jacket BC to back plate and wing?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

theod

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
So i'm still very new to diving with just over 30 open water dives. I do dive very often (25 in the last three months) because I enjoy the hell out of it. And since I enjoy the hell of diving I have been reading the forums and magazine articles about all things scuba diving. On my first ocean dive one of the crew used a back plate and wing. He was really cool about all my questions and I liked his approach. Of course I have the full vest bc with Air 2(gemini) and all the stuff that goes along with that.

It seems to me that most people start with the jacket BC because they aren't quite sure they will like diving all that much. But I've seen a handful of folks doing recreational dives with the back plate system. So if I was interested in trying a setup like that, where would I even start? For those of you that use the back plate and wing systems, what prompted you to use that setup and where did you begin? I'm guessing it's better to know someone that uses a back plate?Lastly what are some pro's and cons?