Dive Computers: Suunto vs. Atomic?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

bahamasita

Registered
Reaction score
Hi All --

I'm a beginner diver -- still have to do my OW dives this summer, but plan on pursing more advanced certs. My local dive shop carries mainly Suunto and Atomic dive computers. The guy recommended I get the Suunto Cobra which has the automatic start when you go in the water and start diving so you don't have to remember to push the start button for your dive. I heard that the Atomic II, however, is easier to use and has a more intuitive dislplay. I want something Nitrox-compatible for when I get certified in the future for that. I definitely want the auto-start sensor because I WILL forget to turn it on.

Also, what are your recommendations for a back-up for the dive computer? A wrist computer?

I have a trip to the FL Keys coming up in July and want to learn all I can about equip so I can buy the right ones for me before that trip.

Thanks all! :)

I didn't even know Atomic made computers, that said, I'd have to reccommend the suunto. As for a back-up try a uwatec bottom timer and your dive tables and your brain.

dulldiver:
I didn't even know Atomic made computers, that said, I'd have to reccommend the suunto. As for a back-up try a uwatec bottom timer and your dive tables and your brain.

Sorry...beginner faux pas! I meant to say "Atmos" dive computer....

bahamasita: