My "Budget" video housing project

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DaFireMedic

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
As I have mentioned before in these forums, I am new to underwater videography, and I wanted to make sure that I enjoy it enough before dropping several thousand dollars on a new housing and accessories. So here is my “budget” housing setup to allow me to “get my feet wet” in underwater videography. I already had a Canon HV20 high def camcorder. Total cost, not including the HV20 was less than $150 and I have controls for power on/off, start/stop record, and menu access for manual white balance.

Housing1small.jpg

I picked up a used Hypertech housing on Ebay for $79 and replaced all of the o-rings. I then set about mounting the camcorder to the slide in tray, no problem. I found that the forward control rod lies just behind the camcorder when using my wide angle lens, so that is used for the start/stop recording control, and when I rotate it the other direction it contacts the “Menu” button. I just had to bend it in the right spot. You can see it in this pic if you look carefully, the tip is coated with white marine sealant to prevent scratching of the camera controls:

Housing4small.jpg