newbie needs info

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

thor1

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
im new to the sport and im doing research on equipment before i buy any, i would like some information and suggestions on regs bcs and dive computers (especially the computers) as to which is the best and what ones to stay away from and what to look for. i plan on using it for recreational diving now and possibly tech diving in the future. any information would be greatly appreciated.

thor1:
im new to the sport and im doing research on equipment before i buy any, i would like some information and suggestions on regs bcs and dive computers (especially the computers) as to which is the best and what ones to stay away from and what to look for. i plan on using it for recreational diving now and possibly tech diving in the future. any information would be greatly appreciated.

The search function is your friend on this topic.

My opinion -- BP -wing, hogarthian reg set-up. Weight belt, not intergrated. A weighted STA will help trim ya out and take some weight off the waist.
Continous piece webbing on the harness with Hog d-rings
Sealed 1 st stage high performance regs ( Apeks, SP, Atomic etc )
Single tank BC for a single tank, none of this works for singles and doubles crap.
Start there and you won't be ebaying stuff in a few months.

check out suunto computers, they are a favorite on this board, i have the vyper and love it, it's up to you if you want wrist or console..