Ultimate Getaway-Dry Tortuga spearfishing questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

2muchtime

New
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hello. I am new to the forum and was checking to see if you guys could help with with some information about spear fishing, lobstering, and this specific boat.

I have been diving since 2005 with my wife, but we may go three years between dives. We have been to Belize twice, and Cozumel once. I am comfortable with these type of reef dives down to 80-95 ft. I have right at 50 dives logged but almost all of them have been small groups with the dive master close by. My wife and I will try to get 3 days of 2 tank diving in and a night dive on each vacation. We just got back from Belize in May. We planned a trip based on the snapper spawn for the whale shark diving. The trip was great, but I did not like diving in blue water at all. I got very anxious. We were at 80 ft for about 20 minutes with no fish, no sand, no bottom. It freaked me out a little bit. I was fine, i was just very ready for it it be over. I used my air about 25% quicker than i normally do so i had to watch the whale sharks from my safety stop, with everyone else got to swim with them at 90 ft. So far thats all I have done that I didn't like. Point being that I am not brand new to diving, but Im not about to load my own boat with my gear and hit the gulf.

My wife wants no part of a live aboard, so i am going with a friend who has less than 10 dives.
A few questions for the board.