A Question As Old As The Sea Itself...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Coll

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
What camera to get?!

I have been using a Canon SD630 with the Canon housing for probably five years now. I'm finally able to afford a little upgrade. I love my old Canon, it has given me great shots, the only upgrades I'm looking for in the newer camera are better megapixels and HD 1080 video. I love the simplicity of my SD630, I can get at the functions easily and know it like the back of my hand. I do mostly macro shooting with occasional wider shots. I don't want to add strobes as I was happy with the internal flash with diffuser on my old camera. Price range would preferably be between $150 and topping off at $300. It would be nice to have a good above water use camera as well. Anyway, I've rambled enough! Any thoughts?

Thank you!

Yes - if you get a solution there are 10,000 other young and poor divers who want the same for $300. I think you are dreaming................... I thought I was cheap!

How about just a newer version of the SD range? There are several models out there. Canon housings remain about the same price point as they've been for a while - $170ish it seems - which leaves $130ish for a camera. Don't think you can do it cheaper than that really and you are happy with what you are using now so this seems like a logical choice.

Or something like the Panasonic TS3? Personally, I wouldn't fork over for the newer TS4, but there is one.