Choice of Equipment for Underwater Surveys to find Wrecks and Map Bottom Underwater

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

BoltSnap

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
I am working on finding and exploring shipwrecks and antiquities buried under the Mediterranean sea off the coast of Libya. I am fairly new to this type of adventure myself. I have been visiting some websites for companies that manufacture Side Scan Sonar and magnetometers (JW Fishers for example) to determine the type of equipment and models that would be necessary in this project. I have looked at Side Scan Sonar and magnetometers but can’t determine which product(s) would be required in our case.

In principle, do we need just the Side Scan Sonar by itself or do we need the Side Scan Sonar in addition to one type of the detectors/magnetometers?

Note: In addition to scanning the sea bottom to find sunken wrecks and antiquities underwater, we want to map the sea bottom to determine potential dive sites (rocks and reef structures). We are not looking for a specific wreck but actually surveying the bottom for signs of any wrecks without knowing about specific wrecks in the area surveyed in advance.