Actual Swimming

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

metaldector

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I've been diving for many years but until I started cave diving I don't think I actually swam very much while diving. Even when wreak diving the swimming portion was limited. Now, when cave diving we may actually kick for more than an hour at a time while doing circuts or traverses, and depending on the flow may swim a lot harder entering a cave system than one ever thought possible! I'm just getting into stage bottles I soon will extend the length of my diving by at least an other hour. Some of my buddies are doing 2 to 3 hours traverses now, all while swimming (kicking).
The question is, is there anyother segment of this scuba sport that requires true prolonged swimming? I can't think of any. Drift diving is just that, drifting. Lobster hunting generally is confined to a limited area with lots of stopping and poking around. Wreak diving is pulling down a anchor line and moving slowly over the wreak or penatrating ususally 60 to 100 feet. Reef diving doesn't require long swimming (although it could). But cave diving (here in Florida) requires swimming penatrations for thousands of feet. So let's hear if there is some other scuba activity that really includes prolonged actual swimming?

Akumal Cave diving

Shallow, no flow, you can swim for hours on a set of AL 80's, I dove nahoch na chich (sac atun) and the average depth in the area I was in was 12 feet.