Advice on Fish Stringer, new to spearfishing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

UnderWaterFlyerGuy

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm new to diving, and I'll be planning to spearfish with brother and friends in a couple of months.

Advice on fish stringer.

Fish in bag?
or
One of several types of stringers?

I've also heard conflicting info on where to keep the stringer with fish on it.
I've heard to tie dead fish on stringer on rope several feet long to reduce shark trouble.
I've also heard to keep the dead fish close to you and simple poke sharks with your speargun if they get close.

Get a ss spear fishing stringer, once you shoot hook it through gill or eye, your choice, clip it closed, pull spear out and go spear another.

HappyDiving

There is no general good advice. It all depends on the shark activity, in certain places and certain times it would be very unwise to use a stringer or any type and other placesit is common practice.