Advice on strobe (S&S Ys110 or Inon Z240)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Vikas.Sandhir

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I'm new to uw digital photography need some advice and input.

I have a compact digital fuji Fxf40fd along with its housing, i have decided to upgrade the same by adding a AD lensmount kit to the housing so i can attach a wide angle or macro lens, so far so good now starts the delaima about the strobe, eventually I will be upgrading to a digital SLR when budget permits, dose z240 have an edge over ys110 and which of the strobes will assist me better when i upgrade to a SLR and is easy to maintain and operate. They both are quite at par to color temp and coverage.

My local agent says go for the z240 as its more compact and fortunately Inon manufactures arms for Fuji. As to the price its a difference of US $ 100 between both. With my current knowledge both have target and can be fired optically and with a cable, and the only difference I see is auto exposer and Matthias Heinrichs ctrl unfortunately my current camera dose not support either. I will be dependent on the Pre-flash compatibility or optical cable do these strobes have the capability to fire in pre flash and then fire again for the image capture, on paper they both claim they can. Did i get the above right.

Vikas