Algorithms

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi all,
This is my first post here on SB and i'm not fully sure if this is the right place for this question

I am currently studying computing at college and am writing a project to be a dive log. I want it to be able to calculate the final pressure after the first dive and if possible your RNT after surface interval.
I was wondering if anybody knows about the algorithms and can point me in right direction or places to look.

Many thanks

That helps thanks. Still quite confused though. Do you know how they assign the letters to each pressure group?

That helps thanks. Still quite confused though. Do you know how they assign the letters to each pressure group?

The letters is just arbitrary letters picked by the different certification organizations. and a table for one organization will give you a different letter than an another table from an another organization for the exact same dive.
The letter means nothing unless the user know what table is used for the logic, and frankly it is not that useful in divelog software, since the user don't have the possibility to choose what table to use (unless you implement a lot of tables). but if this is the functionality you want to implement just copy a table from an open source like the U.S Navy table or the Norwegian Standard table, creating lookup arrays and out put the result.