All help appreciated

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

WANNA SCUBA

Reaction score
# of dives
Hello Everyone. I am looking to get certified and dive this year. I am totally new to this and don't know squat.

I want to be able to dive in my spare time and on vacations I'm not looking to become a pro.

What certification would accomplish this?

What gear do I need to start collecting? What's the best place to get em?

Any other info is also welcome.

Thanks and Happy Diving!!

Wanna Scuba,

WELCOME !!!! to the ScubaBoard !!!!
We're glad you're here.

To answer your first question, a basic open water diver certification is all one needs to enjoy the wonders of scuba diving. However, I guarnatee you that once you start diving, you won't stop at BOW.

The first things that you will need are a mask, fins, booties (if using open heel fins) and a snorkel.

The mask fit is crucial. If your mask doesn't fit properly it will leak. Your fins and boots need to fit correctly, also. The snorkle is pretty much just a piece of pipe, so I wouldn't go overboard and let some dive shop slick salesman talk you into buying a $40 snorkel. The $19.95 snorkel will work just fine.

If you so desire, you can start acquiring your heavy duty gear, wet suit, B/C, regulators, gauges and so forth.

Any of the modern popular brand gear will service you well.

Welcome to the wonderful world of scuba diving.

And I hope you will always have . . .

Safe dives . . . . . . . . .
. . . and safer ascents !

the K