Alternative to Photoshop for correction?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

banana

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Please forgive me if this sounds naive, but I'm new to both UW photography and SCUBA. I rented an UW digital camera and took some pics on a dive in Belize. Afterwards, the owner of the dive shop showed me this tool in Photoshop that corrects the color. Problem is, I don't have Photoshop (I have a mac, so I use iPhoto).

Anyone know of an alternative program or a function in iPhoto that does the same thing?

Thanks and sorry for what is probably a silly question.

Download Picasa, a free program by Google. Try fill-light, "I am feeling lucky" and the crop tool.

Nice plumeria avatar :D

Sorry I don't know anything about mac (isn't there a version of PS or PS elements available for mac?)

banana:
Please forgive me if this sounds naive, but I'm new to both UW photography and SCUBA. I rented an UW digital camera and took some pics on a dive in Belize. Afterwards, the owner of the dive shop showed me this tool in Photoshop that corrects the color. Problem is, I don't have Photoshop (I have a mac, so I use iPhoto).

Anyone know of an alternative program or a function in iPhoto that does the same thing?

Thanks and sorry for what is probably a silly question.
You should be able to tweak color curves, as long as you have the current version of iPhoto. I can't recall if they have at least some raw support now, however... were you working on raw files, or just trying to tweak some JPGs?