am i on the right track??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jloving1

Reaction score
Well, I have finally taken the plunge into diving and I am as hooked as I expected I would be. I am a geologist and love caves so naturally my adventurous side wants to go into cave diving. I got my OW cert. 8/10 and today I got the necessary specialty (navigation; equipment tech; deep diving; night/limited vis) books to start on the route to Advanced OW through SSI.

One main question I have is equipment. I want to purchase recreational equipment soon so I can spend even more time in the water and then purchase gear needed for cave diving next fall or so when I am ready to start that training. Is that a logical choice or should I go ahead and egt a rec/tech BC that can carry over? Any suggestions?

Also any info as to whether my plan of attack seems appropriate would be greatly appreciated!!

Jen

I think you should buy a backplate/harness/ and single tank wing for now. This will carry you thru your cavern and intro levels, and then when you go to double tanks all you will need to buy is a wing for doubles. You can go ahead and get the 7' hose for your primary reg and the bungee necklace for the backup reg. Also save up your money for a canister light. There is no reason why the gear you would wear on a cave dive can't be used on an open water recreational dive.