Beginner Gear

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jack45

Reaction score
I am a beginner looking for the least expensive gear for the best quality. I have come up with this gear based on price and recommendations from a previous post. If there is anything on this list you would not recommend please let me know.

ScubaPro Crystal Vu with Purge – $38
ScubaPro Jetfins – $62
ScubaPro Fino Snorkel – $23
Tusa Imprex 5mm boots – $30
Sherwood Magnum Regulator – $183
Sherwood Standard Octopus – $65
Henderson 3mm wetsuit – $110

I will rent my BC and guages till I can afford it.

All this obtained on LeisurePro.com (try it on in stores then purchase proper size over net)

gauges, they are basically part of your reg setup, at least the SPG.

Try things on for size at your LDS and then ordering online is, shall we say, tacky at the least. IMHO

I am on a tight budget and I am trying to get into the sport. This is the best I can do so if I have to be tacky then that is what I have to do. Paying for two people requires me to be tacky.

Certification $280
Mask $60
Snorkel $30
Fins $120
Hernderson 3mm wetsuit $180
Boots $45
Regulator $200 - $350
Octopus $138
(Shop Price)Total $1103 x 2 = $2206 (Paying for two people)
The internet price is much cheaper as you can see, and I think the difference is worth being tacky.

The shop I get certified at gets my rental business.