check out dives

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

citygrl

Reaction score
Hi there.... I'm just getting started with my month-long certification course and I can't wait!
Here in DC the diving is definitely less than optimal and check out dives are done in a quarry in Pennsylvania. My question- I'm going to Hawai'i in October and want to dive while I'm there. Should I suck it up and do my check out dives here before I go or wait and get certified by referral in Hawaii so I can do more advanced diving there??

Hi citygrl,
I live in DC also and I would recommend doing them here. First of all, you won't waste time doing skills underwater on your vacation and can focus on seeing all the neat stuff Hawaii diving has to offer. Second, you will appreciate the diving there more since you will have experienced a nasty old quarry first. Third, you will be more comfortable in the water with a few checkout dives here and a little more experience before you go and won't be as worried about being underwater. I am curious why they are doing the checkouts in PA since Millbrook quarry is only about 30 mins from DC...?

the certifiction dives locally and get in some dives locally before the trip. That way you will be more proficient when you get to Hawaii.

Who knows, you might catch the scuba bug.

Must.. Get.. Wife.. Off... Computer...

Long.. Weekend...

Must.. Dive..