Choosing Lens for DSLR

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

hqduong

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi,
I am new to underwater photography. I need some suggestions on lens for underwater DSLR. I own a D5100 and I plan to get the ikelite enclosure for it.

I am having a hard time picking a lens that will cover the range I want? On the surface I love my 35mm 1.8 lens, but I have no idea how it will be underwater. How does it appear underwater, as a 50 mm??

What is a good zoom lens? Is the kit lens 18-55mm lens good for underwater? What's a good range.

The two most recommended lenses for underwater photography in Nikon DX are the Tokina 10-17mm fisheye for wide angle and Nikon 60mm micro for macro. I've read that people achieve good results with the kit 18-55mm. For each lens, you should find out whether there is a port available for it. Remember, underwater you lose color quickly with distance, so you want to get fairly close to your subjects.

+1 to Rusti999

Read through this: Best Underwater Lenses|Underwater Photography Guide

I shoot Canon and I use the Tokina 10-17 on most of my recent stuff.

Kit lenses are generally not the best option for underwater photography and you might need add-ons to make them work; another good read: http://www.uwphotographyguide.com/dome-port-optics