Considering moving to Cook Islands for dive instructor job - anyone have insights?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Topper1972

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
Hi,

I'm a multilingual Scandinavian newbie dive instructor planning to go work somewhere outside Europe this coming year.

I have good connections in Sharm el Sheikh, Egypt. But tourism is down 50% there...and I fear it will get worse with the coming elections there.

So I am trying to broaden my options...was at first thinking maybe Thailand would be a good option...lotsa Scandi and German customers.
But then a few days ago I stumbled across a dive centre in the Cook Islands (Rarotonga) looking for a multilingual dive instructor.
I took a chance and sent an application...and they might actually be interested in me.

Now...I have dived heaps in the Red Sea, Philippines, Vietnam, Indonesia, Australia.
Now I don't know much about the Pacific region. The dive op looks very good and that is the most important thing to me.
But how will I find living and working there? Living costs seem rather expensive compared to Egypt and Asia.
Am I right that it is even more expensive than NZ or Australia? Everything has to imported from NZ, etc?
And how about the diving in the Cook Islands...I am going there to work...but some nice diving would be good.
I think that good diving and loads of pelagics would make somewhat up for high living costs.