Control buttons not working between 70’ to 100’

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Ricksteric

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
i’m diving in cayman’s and the last 2 wall dives the control keys stop working, I’m trying to adjust focus setting and flash setting and nothing works. All other buttons the camera does not respond either except the shutter button. As I come off the wall to about 60-65 feet all is well. I have been diving with this camera for the last 4 years and I have never had this problem.
Any help would be great, maybe I’ll take a trip down to Kathy churches tomorrow

Rick

Open the case and watch and feel the keys while pressing them. Give it a good rinse, work the keys thoroughly and then dry it. When it's dry again, open it up and work the keys again, looking to see if there is any improvement.

I do not have the camera that's giving you trouble.

However based on experiencing the issue how I'm reading your description, it sound like sticky buttons. Salt or sediment making the buttons remain depressed because the added friction overpowers the rebound when at depth. Once one button is depressed the camera won't read any other button inputs. Except the shutter.

As #coop42 suggestions, give it a good rinse and check all the buttons for any slightly harder to press or less response on the rebound. Work those until they are smooth again. Clean and lube if appropriate.