Descending with grace

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DutchDown

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm still new to diving so I don't feel TOO silly asking this: how does one descend feet first and not wind up with their legs out in front? I'm the only one among my friends who has this problem, but when I ask them the secret, they say they descend naturally straight. I'd like to learn how to make my feet precede me toward the bottom. I'd appreciate any tips.

I usually find it easier to descend horizontally, except when diving dry, but then in this case it's always from the beach so we simply follow the sloping bottom.

I don't remember ever having problems with this, but the first 30 dives were all from the beach.

What suit do you use?

If you are going dry, ankle weights might be a solution.

I'm working towards my IE in mid-June, and as my feet always seem to refuse to stay down on fins' pivot and hovering, I wear them all the time while practicing skills in the pool.

I even talked to the course director who will be doing IDC in a couple of weeks and he said that's fine, there's no rule against it.