Dive Boat (and my) Mistake...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

FLTRI

New
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
First off, I've been diving for 15 years, and have right at 100 dives. I'm PADI Advanced Open Water Certified and do most of my diving in Hawaii. My wife and I have been coming to the Islands for about 10 years, and we actually got married off the south shore of Kauai on a dive boat three years ago.

So, here's what happened yesterday.

I charter a two tank boat dive yesterday with an operator I picked at random. They had a nice website, and were close to the hotel. They picked me up at the hotel, and made a few other stops to get three other divers. Once we get to the dock, turns out the battery is dead on the boat. The Captain messes with a battery charger for half and hour, and still can't get it started. I noticed the cabin lights were on, and very dim, and suggested that the battery may charge faster if he turned them off. He shuts them down (they had apparently been left on overnight, draining the battery), and after another half hour, the diesel finally turns over, and we head out.

No big deal, things happen.