elementry level filmmaking book?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ChrisA

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
This is posibly a little bit off topic as it's not strictly about shooting
underwater.

I want to buy a book or (maybe a video) for my wife. She just bought a Sony
Mini DV camera but has not much idea how to shoot video that is watchable by
others. A long time ago (in the days of 8 and 16mm film) I took a couple film
making classes. I'm not good at, it but at least I remember about how to
establish the scene with a long shot, the difference between an objective and
subjective shot and a little bit about how to cut the film to tell a story.

She's smart, is fluent in three languages and was able to get into and graduate
from a top-line university but has no mechanical abilty and does not want to
read about f-stops or ISO values. Running the camera in "full auto mode" works
well enough. I think if she learned even the basics of editing and how to
shoot for editing the quality of the result would improve dramatically.

So, I'm looking for a very elementry and readable level filmmaking book

I haven't seen such a book or video, so if anyone knows, I'm interested too. I have learned a couple of things this summer. The most important is, if you or your buddy are diving new gear (exposure suit, BCD, etc) that might take some getting used to, leave the camera behind.