Experience with Mendocino / Van Damme State park area

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I am considering trying to check out some caves, do some light intro to the area discovery dives just to see how I fare in the cold waters. I'm new to diving and don't have a boat and just sort of want to spend some time getting used to diving and coming up controlled, and have relaxed practice before I just run out into the large swells of the pacific and get my ass handed to me out of exhaustion or something.

Does anyone have experience maybe abaloney searching or anything like that off the north coast, preferably mendocino city/ van damme state park area or casper, maybe even as far north as the lost coast, like kings range/ shelter cove area. I want to dive pretty local to where I live without being exhausted driving there and then back after the dives.

Unfortunately the buddy system won't be possible yet but I'm not going very deep. I'll end up getting a small tank for emergency back up also. Before everyone jumps all over me with why I shouldn't go alone please don't. I understand the risks. I'm just rec diving and won't be going into weird places, I just simply want to get comfortable iwth my equipment without worrying about other people. I would like any advice otherwise though for the 'if you go that route'.