Finally Getting Back in the Water

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

boomer68

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi all,

I have been out of the water for almost 4 years due to a shoulder that had to be rebuilt. I have a Sealife DC800 with the strobe and have a few questions. I was only able to use this camera once before my injury so if some of my questions seem elementary, keep in mind I am a newbie photographer.

Is the DC800 a decent camera? reviews on SB seem to be very mixed leaning toward it is not a very good camera.

Am I correct in thinking that a strobe in most cases is needed to get deep popping colors? Or has some point and shoots with technology improved this where a strobe is not necessary.

Should I send my camera and strobe to Sealife to be looked at - replace o rings, etc. I know I can do myself, but since it has not been used in several years, would it be best for professionals to have a look to avoid a flood?

Lastly, opinions on the GoPro 3 video/camera? Is the video quality good without a light source (not sure is that is what is called) and does it take good pictures?

Thanks so much for your thoughts.

Hello boomer68,

glad to know you'll be back underwater!

There is an ongoing debate about 'point and shoot' vs 'DSLR' cameras, both above and underwater.

The key question is: how much time, money and gear are you willing to put into this?