First Trip to Cozumel - got lots of ??s..

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

FriscoScuba

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
Just joined the forum, great info. I am going to Cozumel at the end of Feb for the first time and have a few questions...thanks in advance for the help!!:D

1. I got certified 6 months ago in Hawaii, this is my first time diving since then. Any dive sites I should be sure to get that would be best for a beginner? ANy that I should avoid?

2. Do you like the Plaza Las Glorias?

3. Has anyone taken a day trip to Tulum or Chitchen Itza? Is it a miserable trip or well worth the 12 hours (how long does it take to get there??).

4. My travel agent is setting up the diving through Dive Paradise. Any good words about them??

The food recommendations on this site are awesome, can't wait to try the restaurants you all posted. Thanks! :wink:

Hi Frisco...welcome to the board.

we dove Cozumel in May 2001 & like you I was a newly certified diver. it was AWESOME! I can't say that I had a favorite dive site, they were all great in their own way. we dove Yucab Reef, San Francisco Reef, Tormentos, Columbia, Santa Rosa, & Delilah. since we were there in the off season, we had very few people on board the boat at the beginning of the week. you might want to read Zagnut's trip report to Cozumel, it's great & will give you a good idea of what you're in for.

have a great trip!
Kim

Plaza Las Glorias...
Do not... repeat, do not do a giant stride into the pool next to the bar after 7 Tequila slammers.