Question First wide angle strobes - one great strobe or 2 good strobes?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

KyleFS

New
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
To not "bury the lead", I'm looking for recommendations on my first strobe(s) used primarily for wider-angle shots. Do I blow the whole budget on 1 "great" strobe hoping to add a second later or 2 "good" strobes out of the gate, hoping to upgrade later?

Context:
I'm new to the world of underwater photography. I have worked in pro video on land and some hobby photography. I got a GoPro as an easier (and cheaper) entry to the task loading of adding a camera to a dive before taking my "nicer" cameras underwater. I have enjoyed it, but find myself just capturing crappy stills from my videos. So, I figured I should just commit to photography underwater. And if I know anything, it's that lighting makes all the difference, so focusing here.

I dive off the NC coast so mostly shipwrecks, sharks, and photos of fellow divers. I'm looking for recommendations on somewhat reasonably priced single or pair of strobes to go with my A6000 or a6300 with the 16-50mm in a Salted Line A6xxx housing.