Florida

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
I am in the process of getting certified (actually start in the pool tuesday) and live in central west GA. I was wondering if you guys know any good places to go (springs or off-shore) in northern FL.
I am very excited and cannot wait to try this but I am a college student and do not have as much money as I would like to take seveal trips a year. How much does it cost to dive in a spring or state park usually?
:doctor:

State parksin Florida cost $5 to dive and you have to have a buddy, no solo diving. You can get a year long recreational pass for just over $40 that's good for all the state parks. You can do some shore diving at the state park in Panama City.

Other springs in Floria are privately owned and are @ $25 or a little more to dive them.

Vortex and Morisson Springs are 2 that I have personally been to. Actually I did my check outs in them last September. Don't have your hopes too high on seeing anything unless you are cave certified. They are pretty much good for "getting bottom time" and gaining basic confidence and experience under water. Of the two, I would recommend Vortex over Morrison for a new OW Diver. You can also do some nice diving in Panama City Beach and Destin/Ft Walton.

Vortex Springs
Morrison Springs

Hope this helps.

Tom

below_sea_level once bubbled...
Are there some good places in panama city and destin that you can do for really cheap. Like somewhere that you will not need a boat?:mean: