Fying/driving after altitude diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

There’s some great info in this thread, but two factors I haven’t seen mentioned to reduce the risk following altitude dives, and when flying or driving to higher altitudes after a dive.

While working ski patrol, mountain rescue, doing altitude dives in Colorado, and flying as a charter pilot, I was always surprised at how many people let themselves get dehydrated at altitude. Dehydration is certainly a factor in susceptibility to DCS, and at altitudes where you’re losing fluids faster than at sea level many people don’t drink enough to make up the difference. Dry SCUBA air can take enough moisture out of your system without the added loss from the altitude so even if you’re staying well within the bounds of the NOAA altitude tables make sure you’re not dehydrated or they won’t help you.

Not that I recommend it, but I’ve been pushing the tables for flying after diving for years, but I give myself an extra margin. I keep two portable O2 tanks in my plane and if I think I may need to fly after diving I take one with me either on the boat or have it available as soon as I get ashore. As soon as possible after my last dive I breath O2 (from a mask, not a cannula) for about 30 minutes, and if I do fly before the tables say I should I go on O2 for another 30 minutes before flying. I also stay as low on my flight as I safely can.