I'm coming to Florida! (for a visit)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

pt40fathoms

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
I'll be in Florida from Feb 25th till March 6, and my first visit will be to 40 Fathoms Grotto for the first few days. After that its up for grabs where I go.

Its my first time to Florida, I'll be flying into Tampa, and would like to dive a few wrecks in the area if that is possible. I may even take an intro into cave diving, seeing as we have no caves anywhere near here. It would be nice to take a peek at what all of you have been talking about for so long.

SO, what exposure suits will I need? I'm used to diving in waters that are just above freezing temps almost year round. But my guess is that its a little warmer in those parts. Should I bring my 5/4/3 wet suit, or just pack my trilam and light underwhere?

Oh, and if anyone from around those parts wants to give a half frozen Canadian the grand tour, that would be great as well.

I wouldn't stay at 40 fathoms for a few days, it's a hole in the ground. Your best bet would be to go to the east coast. South FL is nice, so is the keys. Weather isn't getting any better in j-ville, so the SE is probably the way to go.

Not so hot down here right now either but hopefully by the end of Feburary...