Just bought an Equinox HD6 Video Housing. I have a few questions on lighting.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Dan Watkins

Contributor
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I need some advice. I am new to underwater videography. I just bought an Equinox HD6 for my HD video camera.

I plan to use it next month on a trip to the Bahamas on reef dives not much more than 40 feet deep and diving during the day time.

I am also going to be videoing my kids snorkling on a shallow reef, etc.

Do I need a housing mounted light? Will my video quality suffer without one in well lit and clear Bahamian waters?

If I do buy a light, does one suffice or are two needed? I have read several posts and read that the L&M Sola 1200 is well liked. I am also considering this light: Nocturnal Lights Single SLX 800i Video Light Kit KV-800I-S-EQX due to a good price and it comes with a flex arm specifically suited to work with the Equinox housing.

If I went with the Sola 1200 how do I attach it to my particular housing?

I guess in summary:

1. Do I need a light?
2. Do I need more than one light?
3. Opinions on the two lights I identified.
4. How to I attach a Sola to the Equinox HD6 if I went that way.

Thanks for the advice!

Dan

I'm no expert by any means, I've only been out diving with my Equinox HD6 three times so far. Twice at depths of around 12m/40 feet without any extra light and the vids seem fine (see e.g., first attempt scuba vid - YouTube).