Kudos to DAN! (Not really a dive incident though)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Digger54

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Kudos to DAN. I am a diver and a dentist. I keep the DAN emergency oxygen unit in my office for use during the weekdays and take it with me diving. In 20+ years as a professional I have never once had to administer emergency oxygen... till two days ago. The patient had not even been treated yet and reported not feeling well. After they made a trip to the bathroom we found them sitting on the floor in our hallway. As part of our treatment we grabbed the DAN kit and administered O2 right there on the spot. When paramedics arrived they transferred the line on our non-rebreathing mask to their oxygen supply and carried it away with the patient.

Here's the praise: I realized the odds of us needing the oxygen again before another 20 years was slim, but I know how Mr. Murphy and his Law work. So I ordered another mask through DAN. The price was only $5 so I got two. The incident was on Wednesday and the order was placed around noon. Today, Friday, the masks arrived.

No emergencies today. So far, so good. Murphy has not reared his ugly head.

The patient was having a spell of vertigo, btw. She had never experienced it before. That's what I was thinking, but the E.R. doc and a CT scan confirmed it. Worse case would have been CVA, I suppose.

Great job.