MK 10 DIY - to Duro or not to Duro, that is the Question!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Have always enjoyed reading the DIY how-to's on the forum as I'm an avid tinkerer.

I would be interested to get feedback on something I'm currently working on now.

I've been servicing my own MK10 for a few years - and I find the 'appropriate' o-ring by comparing the old ones I've taken out to my new o-ring collection (I've got 70, 75 & 90 duro of every size o-ring), and then figure out the duro based on the 'squeeze test'...

Now that it's been a few generations of servicing my regs in this manner, (and realising that over time one mistake leads to many down the line), I saw COUV's reply to a poster regarding how-to lower IP using a higher duro on the piston shaft o-ring - So... was just considering - I'm guessing it's not such a big deal to get the duro wrong (if switching o-ring duro for such an important o-ring is 'flexible') OR are there certain o-rings in the MK10 line-up that MUST be a d75 or a d90...? IF so, which ones?!
Thanks in advance for the feedback!