My First Call out

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sparkyjames

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Not a good one Im afraid,
Got my first call out today,( rember im new to the team) Seems two men were fishing a small river here and hit a rock with there boat and over turnd the craft.
from what I gather they were not hot rodding the boat just cliped the rock and upset there small boat.

one guy made it out ok but the last he seen of his friend was floating in the river, heading down stream. ( hip Wadders )

By the time we got the call and could make the drive to the site it was past the magic hour, we had help from the US Coast Gard they deployed a Helo to aid in the search

The Air Crew spotted some thing in the water but could not get close in for a better look

So it was decided two of our divers and a supervisor would be air lifted to the site in question
this turnded out to be a barel or a pipe of some sort. we had to call the search for tonight after that as the helo was low on fuel and it was getting way to dark to be
out.
Risk vs Benafit ( I know the rule dont mean I have to like it )

It was hard to leave the scean knowing I was going home to a hot meal and a warm bed and our victom wasnt,

Has this ever happend to you have you spent your time checking out what looks like something and it turns out to be nothing but so much debrey?

Im not talking bad leads this actuly looked like some one hunched over in the water could have fooled any one.