Need a recommendation

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mblazer

ScubaBoard Sponsor
ScubaBoard Sponsor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I've gotten to the point where I'm considering upgrading my uw photo rig. I've been an amateur topside photographer for many years, but have only been shooting uw for about a year -- using a Sea Life DC1000 as a starter kit to get practice and experience. My primary land camera is a D700. I'd rather not take the D700 under since my wife and I do a ton of top side shooting while we're on dive trips. I also have an older D70 as a secondary/backup. So here's where I could use some help.

Do I get a housing for the D70 (such as an Ikelite 6807.1 - if I can find one), or do I bite the bullet and pick up a newer camera body (like a D90)? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Many times this boils down to budget and how much will you use the kit underwater. One place to start is possibly used gear. With the D7000 coming out and other new bodies on the horizon many are starting to unload their used gear. That is how I started. Check the classifieds here, wetpixel, digitaldiver, etc....

I typically like to have two bodies of the same camera, just in case:depressed: That way you have the backup, one stays in the housing and the other for shooting dryland.

I know once I started taking the camera down I was hooked and now can't imagine diving without it.

Would you feel comfortable in handling a DSLR underwater setup with as little dives as you have on your profile?