Need Help w/ a setup

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

memon1

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello All,

I am just getting into doing video. I bought an inexpensive Mini-DV camera by panasonic. I currently have a Dell Inspiron 100, which you can imagine doesn't get me very far in editing. I was looking at buying an older G4 Mac setup. But I'm wondering if maybe I should think about getting a Mac Mini, or possibly a better PC. I'm on a BIG BUDGET constraint so before you post it, I can't afford a G5 or any fancy stuff like that. I have at most about $700.00 to spend right now. I would like some advice about a good program to use. I am currently using Windows Movie Maker, NERO by Sony, and Muvee demo.Any help or advice would be GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!

Thanks!!

I have a Compaq laptop with an AMD 64 Athlon processor and 1 gig of ram. I find this to work with an external firewire hard drive. I started out with a Dell Centrino, but burned the motherboard out after a few short movies with the rendering. As for software, I use Pinnacle Studio.

There are times that I have gone back to Windows Movie Maker, good basic program.

If you have a Dell already (and I'd assume some PC software) why switch to a Mac? The only advantage you'd gain is you'd get Imovie, but most serious Mac editors I know use Final Cut Pro, which retails over $700 alone.