New snorkel/mask/fins - would love your input/thoughts!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

herbsandspices

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to the world of snorkeling, but plan on doing a lot more travel these days, and since I don't own any gear, I thought I'd do a bunch of research, and have come up with TOO MANY OPTIONS!

I've decided to buy all Cressi gear - I really love that it's all made in Italy (or at least the items I am interested in)... could be that my girlfriend is Italian and it'll make her happy, which is what it's all about! :Kissy:

My uses will be casual snorkeling - mostly calm, shallow waters. I have some experience snorkeling, but have always rented gear (which is always rather... well, rented).

Snorkel:
Cressi Delta 1 or Delta 2 - which one would be better for snorkeling? Seems like the Delta 2 is more appropriate, as the Delta 1 is more Scuba-friendly, which I don't plan on doing any Scuba at this point.

Masks:
Cressi Big Eyes Evo, Big Eyes, Piuma... Again, not sure which would be best for my uses. A big field of vision is important to me... I should say that I have a slightly narrower face. The Evo seems great, but the folks at Leisure Pro recommended I get the original Big Eyes. I dunno!

Fins:
Reaction or Pro Star (or maybe the Pluma) - want something comfortable and not too huge - I don't plan on doing any crazy free diving! Seems like the full-foot bigger/stiffer fins might be uncomfortable after a while? But I do want a full-foot fin.