New to Diving! And have a few questions...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

MindeeO

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi! I am new to diving, and in all my searches and quests for new information, I stumbled across this forum. I recently completed my classroom training, pool dives, and open water dives (but yet to master all my skills towards certification- ugh!). For a bit of context, I use a wheelchair due to T12 spinal cord injury, and have a few questions (that might be best answered by others in a similar situation):

1. Being that I use my hands (rather than feet) to propel through the water, I find it difficult to navigate with a compass that is connected to my BCD. I have considered a digital compass on my wrist. Do others think that this is a good idea? Or have better ideas?
  2. I also am experiencing positive buoyancy in my legs at the surface, but at depth (30-40 feet) they seem to be neutrally buoyant. If I don't weight my legs at the surface, I descend upside down. If I weight my legs, I can descend in a better position, but then swim in a "standing position" I am thinking about weighting my legs until I get to depth, and then move the weights from legs to BCD. Thoughts? (BTW, they are 1-2 pound weights).
  3. Any other great advice to a new diver?

Thanks!

Mindee, good on you for making this happen for you. I do not have any of the challenges you do but understand some of them. My late wife was in a chair due to muscular dystrophy. She did not dive but loved the water.