Oly Direct Connect (Synchro????) TTL or Wireless Remote TTL????

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Kengar

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a totally newbie, doing some research here.

I've purchased an Oly 8080 and have not yet decided on housing. I know the Ikelight housing permits a direct connection from the strobe to the housing with a TTL chord (I'm assuming that is what's referred to as a "synchro" setup, yes, no???), and I assume that is required since the housing does not permit the internal flash to pop up for a sensor-based setup to work.

The Oly housing, on the other hand, does permit the internal flash to pop up, so it can use a setup where the strobe "watches" the internal flash, with the "watching" sensor connected to the strobe by a cable. I assume that is what is referred to as slaved TTL, yes?? no??

Two questions: Does the Oly housing permit the direct connection sort of setup, like the IkeLight Setup?

I assume the slaved TTL approach (sensor watching the camera) is preferred, since the packages with it are more expensive than the direct connect (synchro) TTL configuration. If so, in what way is it better? Or am I wrong on that, and is direct connection (synchro) better route to go for a newbie??

Thanks for your help.

Ken.

Direct allows more control,

as for a newbie, a direct "wired" connection will provide everything a slave setup will. but a wired connection may provide more control when an if you require it

Chris

As far as I know the OLY housings do not have the hard wire strobe option.