Olympus E-PM1 still a viable option?

Olympus E-PM1 still a viable option today?

• Total voters

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

akivisuals

Contributor
Reaction score
Although I'm relatively new to diving (OW in Fall '14), I've been a professional photographer for over 20 years and want to start shooting underwater. I've been using a GoPro Hero 3+ Black for a little while and am a bit disappointed in the quality that I'm currently getting. For my work, I'm currently using a Canon C100 for video, Canon 5D3, Sony A7s, Panasonic GH3, and have a Sony A7r MKII on order. I realize that these are all quite different from the little E-PM1 but I want to start with a small camera that isn't going to cost me a ton of money. I have an opportunity to pick up the E-PM1, housing, port, camera tray, single flash arm for $385. which I can definitely afford. The gorgeous Nauticam housings for the Sony A7 mirrorless cameras are nice but WAY out of my budget right now. Is the E-PM1 way outdated by today's standards? Will I be able to use my Panasonic 12-35/2.8 in the Olympus housing? Will I get TTL with my Sea and Sea YS-110a?

It depends on what you want to do.
If you are interested in macro, get the epm1, then pick up an olympus 60mm macro lens (it fits in the standard port which came with epm1 housing) and go shoot.