Phi Phi?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Kerstin

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm new to diving -- just got certified this month and my boyfriend and I are going to Thailand in June. We are thinking of diving in Phi Phi. Does anyone know if this is worth it or if the weather will be ok? My friend who lives in Bangkok assured me it's not the rainy season yet but after reading some posts about the weather in Phuket, I'm not too sure. He is convinced Phi Phi is the best as far as beauty, etc. and he says there is good diving there as well. We haven't booked yet and want to maximize our trip possibilites as we will only be in southern Thailand for 4 days.Any recommendations?

Phi Phi is a lovely island and well worth a visit, if you find it a bit more expensive than you expected, you can find a whole load of other islands nearby. Nice diving too.

I really enjoyed my two weeks there three years ago. Island is beautiful, diving very good, romantic place (sigh, I was alone) and I met some nice folks there.

Dr. Bill

Phi phi is lovely. But if you want to save money, you can dive Phi Phi from Ao Nang, which is a lovely town near Krabi and a launching spot for getting to Railey where there is fab rock climbing. The trips are a day trip and include lunch. There are also nice sites around Ao Nang.
Unfortunately, the rainy season will have started on the West coast by June. It's still nice to dive, though, if a little choppy.
Koh Tao on the East coast will be a little less rainy. But it's not quite as nice.