Pics are overexposed - help?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

forloveoftravel

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone - well I finally bought my DC-800 pro set (1 strobe), and got it wet for the first time this weekend. Conditions weren't great - pretty choppy seas, some surge underwater, only 30 feet vis for the most part, etc, but at least we were diving :eek:) Anyway, some of my pics came out OK, one or two were great, but at least half of them looked over-exposed. I am new at underwater photography, so I am sure this is operator error, and nothing wrong with the camera. I had the auto flash set at 0 and the focus set to infinity. Does anyone have any suggestions for the best way to fix this problem? Is it a setting that I need to adjust? Thanks for any help!!

Jen

I have a DC600, when my shots are overexposed, it's because I'm too close to the subject. I generally shoot from 18" or so and zoom in, if I'm trying for a closeup. Water conditions and angle of strobe all affect the shot, so try, try, try again. I did a lot of practice on starfish (they stay agreeably still for repeat shots.)

I've also noticed a high contrast between foreground and background can cause an overexposure. The camera tries to properly expose a darker area and then blows out a lighter area.

I've never used the DC800, so maybe I'm way off base. But, as you said, it may be just technique.

Happy Hunting!