Possessed D4... Stuck button?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

WendyCayman

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I've been using this D4 for about 3 years and have had the problem that it can just start racing through my logbook or the modes though somehow I could coax it out of its nonsense. Its becoming a real problem now though. I also struggle to get the bottom right-hand button to work at depth. For instance, I'll be stuck on temperature when I need to know the dive time. I really need dive time though when leading dives. My last dive I had to take another computer because the D4 wouldn't let me change my Nitrox blend from 21 to 28.

I spoke with some others about this and they suggested a long soak in near boiling water with a splash of vinegar or lemon juice. I just have a feeling that this would cause some sort of trouble with the manufacturer in the future or even damage my computer.

Whats the recommendation? And I can't send it off. The battery was changed very recently as well.

WendyCayman,

I would highly advise you to not soak your computer in near boiling water nor with lemon juice or vinegar. I would only recommend soaking your computer in luke warm fresh water. Did you just have a battery service or did you have the complete 2 year 200 dive service when you sent your computer in? Also, was your battery changed at an authorized Suunto service center?

Best Regards,
Chris from Suunto