Potentially in OZ for a year or two

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

zilch

Contributor
Reaction score
sorry to say it, but another Pom might be in sydney for work in the next few months or two :eyebrow: , on a company move.. Bit of a tropical blue water diver, learned to dive in Airlie beach, QLD last april, done Egypt Red Sea in September, so use to 80 F..As i am a bit of a novice, does it make sense to join a local club in Sydney, or should i spend some time getting some experience continuing to dive tropical before thinking about local diving, to get some experience in.

Not pre-judging, just not sure

There are heaps of dive shops in Sydney that run guided shore dives on Sat and Sun mornings, which may be a good place to start and also a good place to meet new buddies. Should help you get used to diving the cooler water and worse vis with a bit of guidance! When you move here, I would look on diveoz.com.au - they have directories of dive stores, and you can see where the nearest shops are to you and just go from there.

Roz Amos:
Should help you get used to diving the cooler water and worse vis with a bit of guidance!

Thanks for the input, hmm sounds abit like the UK which i have declined to do :11: as i do not have sufficient fat reserves for cold water diving :wink: .. When you say cold and bad viz, like what temp and how many metres.. Whitsundays was 8 metres max.. would that be a good day ??

Thanks

Jim