Regulator Durability

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Boingo

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I'm very new to diving, but have already purchased my own gear. I bought a set of HOG regs which are awesome. I'm already seeing the abuse regulators can get from banging on tanks, hitting the ground, etc. It's kinda freaking me out. I'm trying to avoid it as much as possible, but it seems inevitable that it's gonna happen. Should I not be worrying so much? How durable are my regs?

I recently bought an Aqualung Titan/octopus/Oceanic Swiv console.

History thoroughly unknown.

Had it serviced the same week I received it. Per the serial it was manufactured around 1998.

I finally had it out today and put myself in multiple positions (the Sherwood Brut rental would get some water in when inverted) and had no issues. Down to 35ft.

Can you damage regs with careless handling? Yes. Plastic cases can and do crack. Regulators that are dragged through sand will accumulate debris that may lead to malfunction. But minor impacts and normal use are what regulators are designed for. As long as you don't drop your second stages on the asphalt or haul them through the mud, they should tolerate normal diving activities just fine.

Just curious - who's going to service your Hog's locally? TDL in Havasu? I've been thinking about getting a set but don't want to take the class and do it myself.